Common striped woodlouse, Philoscia muscorum

Three photographic catastrophes this morning (1) No power in my camera battery; (2) Inserted the standby to find here was no power in that either; (3) Then discovered there was no SD card in the camera anyway!  Tried out my Nikon macro lens not very successfully with this Slater, but didn't persevere enough to get a good shot - so the bokeh is up the creek. Then I thought there must be more to life than 'bokeh' and took off for Lidls to buy some smoked salmon and red wine.  That was a good move actually because I saw something that made me giggle: Just leaving Lidls Car Park was a little Smart car completely covered in a leopard-skin design - must have cost the owners  fortune to get that done!  But there's more to come!  The registration number was (and I'm not kidding) K1DUS!  Lovely couple of a certain age driving - him in a safari hat.   Although this isn't a very good blip I was struck by the greenish tint to this creature - they are usually more greyish. By the way, Woodlice (or 'Slaters' in Scotland) are not insects, they are crustaceans and are related to crabs, lobsters and shrimps - so Google informs me. They have blue blood – literally!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.