At the Hairdressers

We did something today that we've never done before.
Brushed our hair before going out?
We went to see a film at the cinema for the second time. We were in Milton Keynes and the Little Misses asked if we could go to the cinema. Why not? I thought. I'll be spontaneous, lovely Mummy!
When I read them the listings they both said they wanted to see Inside Out again.
I loved it the first time so was happy to see it again.
It is such a brilliant, thought provoking, moving, lovely film. 
It made me cry again, it made me want to be a better mum and it made me want to make the Little Misses happy; to help them with the craziness going on inside their heads. And all the craziness to come!
We were in Milton Keynes for their annual haircut. I took them to the children's salon where Miss E went to a pamper party a couple of months ago.
They got to play Minecraft while their hair was being cut and therefore it is THE best hairdressing salon in the world!!
I was intrigued by Miss E's ability to play Minecraft. I refuse to let them have it. Because I'm a mean Luddite!!! I think they've played it at friend's houses!
Once they'd had their hair cut - and didn't look a bit different! - we headed to Asda to return some shorts for Mr K. Then we made the last minute decision to go the cinema. The film started in five minutes so we zoomed to the cinema, dashed in, went to buy tickets and discovered it was sold out.
So I bought tickets for an hour and a half's time then it was back to Asda (because I hadn't had time to swap the shorts) and then to Ikea for lunch and a spatula.
After lunch - and with lunch boxes, sheets, kilner jars, washing up brushes, coat hangers and no spatula - we rushed back to the cinema. Late naturally! We got in just as the short started - Lava, a beautiful tale of volcanic love!
When we came out I was feeling all warm and fuzzy and determined to give my children the best possible childhood. We skipped back to the car holding hands and chatting about the people in our heads. I came very close to driving home but at the last moment swerved round the roundabout to Sports Direct. Miss E needs shin pads.
Big mistake.
One of the Little Misses' most irritating habits is not getting out of the car when I stop. They faff around, refuse to put their iPads down, endless "but I just........."  Grrrrrrrr!
Miss E wouldn't stop playing her game , the red mist descended, I slammed the door, got back in and drove off.
She went mad, started screaming and kicking, begging to go into the shop. I refused, she bellowed "well then I'll take my seatbelt off" and tried to leap into the front as I pulled out of the car park.
I bellowed if she didn't sit back down and do her seatbelt up I'd sell her iPad. And I meant it.
God give me strength.
When we got home I hid myself away until Mr K got home and then headed to the gym.
So much for warm and fuzzy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.