Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Allotment shop

No time for a walk today but did do something I've wanted to do for an age - I went to the Park Road allotments (a few steps up the street for me) to find out more about them.  On Saturday and Sunday mornings they open their shop.  Idealistically I thought maybe you could buy excess produce - wonderful locally grown fresh veg - but they aren't allowed to sell to the public and most of the stuff in there is for allotment holders to use on their allotments: bubble wrap, gardening gloves, daff bulbs, bags of compost and booking use of the shared machinery, etc.

I have to say, though, they couldn't have been more charming and I somehow gather that for £6 per annum I could become a member of the Society even without having an allotment.  Which would technically allow me to buy the homemade marmalade and take pics there.  Watch this space!

For those of you not living in this strange island, allotments are where some gardeners like to grow their veg/grapevines/sunflowers/you name it...  On some allotment areas you can even keep bees, pigs, chickens and a pony or two, but not in Park Road.  You get a huge plot for approx £50 a year.  There is always a queue to join and the standard of growing skills is very high.  Eccentricity levels are often touching the stratosphere too.

Thanks so much for visiting my journal!  Enjoy your evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.