The village show

First thing this morning I took all my entries up to the village hall. There is always a buzz about the place as people display their entries and jostle for the most premium exhibition spot. I returned to the hall  at 3.00 to have a look. The hall is decorated with knitted bunting that always looks spectacular. We have been told that one of the photography entries next year is this years village show, so there were lots of photo's being taken.

It was hard to see what I had  won as almost at every step someone stopped to say hello and discuss theirs and my own exhibits.  Eventually I made it all round. It's surprising what won, and what it was awarded. I was chatting to one of the organisers who explained that they brought in judges - which was good to know. The  fruit and veg is all judged to specific criteria, but almost everything else is very subjective. 

So here goes this is what I won.
Strawberry jam - 3rd
Gooseberry Jelly - 3rd
Orange Marmalade - 2nd

Out of all my photos I got one highly commended - for a real quick snap  no other accolades for my photographs. 

Christmas quilt -  2nd
Poppy quilt - 3rd
Knitted/felted bag - 3rd
Sausage dog pincushion - 2nd

I felt quite happy with my lot. I thought one of the quilts might get a 1st, but neither did, but I am still very proud and happy with both of them.

As Mr PB is away we had takeaway tea, Indie was walked before hand. We did Tallulah's old walk which he loved.

Then after tea there was a knock at the door. A friend from OCQ stood on my doorstep with a trophy cup. She held the WI Presidents cup which I had won. All the prizes and raffle is done at the end of the show and it goes on forever so I left before this. This is awarded for the most points in the homecraft section. Quite chuffed!  

I have pictured the ladies selling the homemade produce. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.