A BEAUTIFUL ROSEBUD

Mr. HCB had pointed out to me earlier in the week that the rose we had planted several years ago in a pot, and which had never really bloomed, was now blooming, so I decided I might use it as one of my Blips later.

This morning, when it was quite cold and crisp outside, I decided to go out and look before we went to church.  There were three blooms that I could have chosen, and as I moved the other two aside, this beautiful rosebud dropped off into my hand.  I was rather sad that it had “come away” from the plant, but decided that I would take it indoors and after I had photographed it, would enjoy it - once again on my kitchen windowsill.

Whilst I was taking the photographs, I thought of friends of ours from church who have just left their daughter at university in Scotland and how difficult that parting has been for them, and also for other friends who have just taken their daughter to university in Cornwall - and indeed for all parents who are coping with their teenagers leaving home for the first time.  We feel happy that they are confident enough to launch out on their own, but it will never be quite the same for us as parents, and siblings, once our family has been scattered, for whatever reason and both Mr. HCB and I know, and have experienced this parting in our own family.

However, as Christians, we believe that God will take care of us, even when we are apart, and His promise to us is:

He will cover you with his wings;
    you will be safe in his care;
his faithfulness will protect 
     and defend you.
Psalm 91:4 
Good News Translation

Thank you for all your comments and stars yesterday - I will let you know when I have been out for a drive in the Tesla.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.