Indian Summer?

Gorgeous day, which dare I say could be the start of an Indian Summer?

This afternoon we went up to Les Landes on the hunt for Long-tailed Blue butterflies that had been spotted up there recently. We didn't find any but we did have a lovely walk in the warm sunshine. This shot is of heather in the foreground and Grosnez Castle in the background. The view of the other Channel Islands, including Alderney, was really good again today. Just as we got back to the car we also noticed that France was very clear as well.
This morning I heard a squirrel chattering away in my neighbour's garden so quickly went down the track to see if it was still nearby. There was one in their garden hanging off a bird feeder, but when I moved to see if I could get a better shot I saw one in the same spot as yesterday. This one was so still for such a long time that managed to get a great shot, which I've put in extras.
Further down the track there were lots of butterflies including two Holly Blues. The Peacock caterpillars from the other day are still around on the stinging nettles but in five large groups now.
There were also a few dragonflies zooming around and one very kindly rested in a sycamore tree for me. Later I managed to get a pretty decent shot of one flying over the pond, (see extras). I took it (by mistake) whilst the setting was on a scenic filter but, it really helps to bring out the colours of the body. I normally use the sports filter but I tried it afterwards and the colour of the water was brown and couldn't find the dragonfly anyway.

Tomorrow's Mono Monday is CONTRAST tagged mm84 hosted by chantler63 and B4YUU.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.