CONTRAST: Up and Down

My first day in Spain on my own - where's a man when he comes in handy? Already I have had to call the pool man as the pump was making an horrendous noise and was full of water.  I switched it off and Gary came round to check it.  He is hopeful that it will work OK when it has had the chance to dry out but it might mean a new one (expensive).  We had some work done on the pump housing to stop this happening as we are on a hill and when there's heavy rain it can't soak away fast enough - it rained heavily yesterday!

Then, a little while later, the power to the villa disappeared!  I called our agent and then checked the fuse box.  I felt very brave and clever switching a fuse back on and making everything come back to life.  It's raining hard again now so I hope there isn't a repeat performance.

I visited a local market this morning and used my bestest Spanish to buy salad, vegetables and some pre-cooked paella, ribs and chicken.  that should see me through quite a few days.  Tomorrow I will go to a supermarket and stock up on wine, beer, tortilla and a few other essentials. In a way it's quite refreshing to be here and not be sweltering in the heat.

So...pre-MonoMonday blip for CONTRAST.  Tag your entries mm84. Today I took a shot from the roof of the villa looking down and then from the patio looking up - the plant is the same one.  Merging them in Photoshop was quite straightforward.  However, I have something far simpler in mind for tomorrow although that is partly weather dependent; maybe I had better have a plan B in mind too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.