Sword

It was going to be another Olivia blip today but no it is #1 son and his Highland pattern Officer basket sword. Why? Because it ends a saga. Originally to be his 21st birthday present from his parents a delay caused by him, and Wilkinson Sword no longer making British Army dress swords, meant it was finally bought for him, by me, 9 years late in 2012 from the sword makers in Germany. It was supposed to arrive so that he could use it to cut the cake at his 2nd wedding but it didn't quite make that AND it arrived with the blade wrongly engraved. Many emails and the passing of time ensued and in October 2014 I took thev blade back to the UK and sent it to Germany. The PO was NOT happy. 9 months later, after being 'lost' on arrival I brought it back last week, all thanks to Qatar's generous baggage policy. He had to do a wee bit DIY today to make the blade fit the basket ok but there you have it, complete. Nearly 13 years late and 4 years after he left the army but a happy ending!

Elsewhere I searched for places to stay in Singapore F1 weekend that won't cost an arm and a leg, I had a very long play in the pool with Olivia and then a swim myself and we went out for food with #1 son's active partner in the education business they are establishing in which I have a stake. Oh and his wife and son.

It wasn't as hot today, a couple of degrees down and hazier. The burning of here and in Indonesia causes haze and bad air quality.

And I see in missing summer in Scotland. Well you can't have everything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.