horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Crossing the Forth

(with massive thanks to Bob Marshall for the photo)

Off over the bridge to Kirkcaldy for another cross race today, out in the Fife sunshine (most un-cross-like).

Extra photo from mate Fiachra looks somewhat less composed, being about 50 minutes later.... (I couldn't quite bring myself to use it for my blip, though it's now my FB profile pic).

That was a brute of a race, which wasn't really apparent from a few warm-up laps, but lap after lap of the real thing drained everything. I could use the exertions of the last few days, plus just about shaking off a cold, as excuses, but I was starkly reminded of just how slow I am at these things again (though I wasn't quite last in the field, always my aim). Bike handling is fine, off and on for the hurdles is great, the engine is missing a beat or seven. Need to discover some willpower on a few things. And a bike fitting wouldn't go amiss given the tight state of my shoulders and back, and the aching in my arms, during the ride.

Nice to sit in the sun afterwards in Fi and Susan's garden, indulging in some caffeine refreshment and relaxed chat, before heading back over the bridge to the south, and gin in the garden with Mel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.