Floating

Up early and in Dingwall by 8.30am as Mike had dentist. He dropped me at the Football Stadium and I went for a walk down to Ferry Point. I was going to go to Tesco to do some shopping but it was too nice to be indoors. I dried one of the benches that was covered in heavy dew and sat and watched a heron fishing between the old pillars. About 100 red shanks were chasing the tide as it went out leaving a muddy bank. I was just in time to photograph the two boats before they were left stranded. 'My' little blue boat and had joined by another.
I crossed the wonky bridge and noticed another heron preening on the old jetty. The trees are starting to change colour and the rowan trees heavy with berries. Blackbirds, robins and a wood pigeon were enjoying the feast.
Mike picked me up and we went for a drive and ended up at Silver Bridge just North of Garve , part of an Drovers Road.  Some German visitors were having fun making funny shadow shapes on the rocks below. A lady spoke to me in German and laughed, I smiled :)
We then went down to Little Garve, beautiful. The heather was out along the banks, dragonflies hovered over the water, the black water tumbled over the rocks where salmon can sometimes be seen. A woodpecker pulled off bark from one of the old Scotch Pines. Fungi had been nibbled and blaeberries and wild raspberries ripened.
 A good day all round David had some good news about his book and Richard started  in a new position at work :) 
It's been warm enough to have the windows open which I'm about to close in case the Pine marten comes in !
Sorry running behind on comments, will hopefully catch up soon !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.