A Wood Stove Still Life

Dear Diary,

The morning light illuminated the old copper tea kettle which belonged to my dear auntie. Her lovely orange carnival glass decorates the table now, my extra photograph today. Although it has been unseasonable warm the past few days my mind is turning to the tints and tones of autumn.

The scene on the wood stove reminded me of those old Dutch still life paintings which focused on the humble details of everyday life. I find such beauty in this sort of thing especially if it also provides a link to a beloved relative that had a profound impact on my life.

Autumn is a time of gathering in, of bringing close the necessities of life that will see one through the coming winter. The wood stove will come to life then and the warmth of its fire will fill the room. Every time I pass the old stove I think of auntie. Memories are stored in tangible things and just a touch will bring them back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.