The Last Butterfly

Dear Diary,

I hadn't seen butterflies for over a week and thought they were all gone for the season but then I spotted one on some phlox. Seems this one may have been lulled into complacency given our week of hot, humid weather. I was very pleased to see him.

I also thought all the day lilies were long gone but I found a little clump still valiantly putting out blooms. Everything is hanging onto summer but personally I am ready to let it go. I am craving the cool, crisp days of autumn. We did get some much needed rain last night so that's a start.

What I love so much about living in New England is that just as you find yourself saying "Enough!", nature opens the door to a whole new reality. One can never be bored living here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.