A Journey Back in Time

Dear Diary,

I have been journeying back in time this week. Partly because I am preparing for my genealogical trip to New York on the 21st and partly because I am watching the magnificent documentary The Civil War by Ken Burns. It is the 25th anniversary of its first airing on PBS and the re-mastered film is a wonder to behold.

This is the oldest photograph I have. It was taken between June, 1864 and August, 1866 and it is of my great-great grandmother. I know it was made during those dates because there is a tax stamp affixed to the back of the photo. (Extra picture) Every photograph had to have this stamp during that time. It was issued to help pay for the Civil War. I also know that my grandmother paid less than 25 cents for the photograph. Two cent stamps were for that amount. Amazing what you can tell from a small object like this.

I just finished my on-line class, Tangible Things. It has helped me look at the material objects of the past with new eyes. It was a great learning experience and I am sure I will do more of these classes in the future. Keep learning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.