Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

To Remember Summer

Dear Diary,

I made a photograph of the farmer's porch just so I can remember the lovely warm light and the flowers when it disappears in a few weeks. I love to sit out in the old rocker in the late day. Soon, too soon, all that will be put into the cellar of the barn and the snow shovels will come out.

The seasons are so fleeting but I could never live anywhere there wasn't four distinct seasons. I feel a real connection with Nature when I can pass through her changes along with the landscape. One can rejoice in the knowledge that no matter how difficult the winter, spring will come and so it is with our own lives.

I'm in a time of great activity right now...making winter preparations, dividing perennials, making sure there is enough wood tuck away in the cellar of the barn to stoke the wood stove this winter. I sometimes have to remind myself to slow down and just experience the transition...savor the sights and smells of Autumn.

And you would accept the seasons of your heart just as you have always accepted that seasons pass over your fields and you would watch with serenity through the winters of your grief.

- Kahlil Gibran

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.