Solar Panels

The sun came out belatedly this afternoon so Jazzy and I went bug hunting. I got a nice solitary bee on a fox and cubs flower, a really colourful froghopper and a harvestman with its eyes in a turret. I was startled when I touched a large drab moth on a south facing wall in an attempt to get it into a more photogenic position. It flew off with a startling flash of red. The red underwing uses its secret red wings to confuse predators.

There was a patch of sunlight in the disused carpark. Sure enough a common blue butterfly was flitting about. I think it highly likely that it is the same one as I shot the other day. It was nectaring on melilot and basking on dead seed heads. I took lots of pics of its beautiful blue wings angled to catch the sun like solar panels. However I've decided to post the above backlit image, no gorgeous blue visible but it's glowing like a beacon in the sunshine. .    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.