YOU JUST WAIT!

It was the day of surprises for me yesterday - colourful pens in the morning, Mr. HCB took me out to Burford Garden Centre, where we wandered around and I took photographs before he treated me to lunch, and then to finish off a lovely day, a friend brought me this, which was better than a bunch of flowers!

It was actually a gift from her Mum, who lives in Liverpool, with a note that said:

“Maureen - Rudbeckia! Very invasive but you did ask for some!!  M xx”

Then I remembered seeing photographs of Mary’s garden where she had some beautiful Rudbeckias and had forgotten that I had asked for some.  Just looked at her garden photographs again and see she has some pink foxgloves so might just have to ask for a few seeds from them!  After seeing the prices at the garden centre yesterday, it is definitely the way to go - sharing seeds and roots.

I have taken a photograph of the roots, but have put one of the “dead” flowers alongside, so that you can use your imagination to see what my yellow ones will look like next year.  Of course, they will be forever be called “Mary’s Rudbeckias”!  They may look nothing now, but with some TLC and some of Mr. HCB’s compost under them, they should look wonderful next summer - and of course, they will be blipped - so thank you Mary - watch this space!

Just in case you don’t know what a Rudbeckia looks like, I have put a photograph of one  in my extras that I took yesterday at the garden centre.

Whilst taking the photograph, I was reminded of these verses:

And now just as you trusted Christ to save you, 
     trust him, too, for each day’s problems…..
Let your roots grow down into him 
     and draw up nourishment from him. 
See that you go on growing in the Lord, 
     and become strong and vigorous 
          in the truth you were taught. 
Let your lives overflow 
     with joy and thanksgiving 
          for all he has done.
Colossians 2 : 6-7
Living Bible

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.