and through the wire...

By hesscat

A Royal Opening - #MyBordersRailway

I dashed out on my lunch, after... shock horror... watching the mirror online live coverage of Ma'am's trip to know where she was and avoid hanging about. Having passed round Borthwick Castle on Saturday I thought that would be a decent place for a blip.

It was fairly busy, a council worker was placed on every bridge apparently, and there were barriers to stop people getting run over - these are small bridges!

It was quite exciting to hear the chuff chuffs, and the toot toots, and the smoke get closer and felt the pressure to make sure I'd get a blip! And then it appeared under the bridge... I stopped the burst shooting just before her carriage appeared otherwise I may have seen them, but I am sure they waved at me.

I've added a few extras as they disappeared down the line, with diesel at the rear to pull them back up to Edinburgh - they can't turn the engine around at Tweedbank!

That was cool, although I do not spot them, I like to see and take trips on trains. For the price of an arm and a leg, you can ride the steam engine again in the next 6 weeks. I suspect it well sell out and come back again.  I've yet to see a normal train on the line as part of the schedule and suspect it will be sometime before I don't bat an eyelid!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.