Leiflife

By Leiflife

All things come to those who...

The Monarchs are here, which means fall...or at least the beginning of fall. I had my camera out and was watching them flit from flower to flower on the tired old lantana. I was tempted to try for a photograph, but they were not lingering, and besides, my camera lens was fogged up from the humid air. And Music needed a certain amount of monitoring. I was still aware, and by the time a butterfly lit on a confused wisteria, my camera had adjusted to the humidity. I say confused because wisteria blooms profusely in spring, and this one had brought forth small clusters of blossoms as summer was giving way to fall. The monarch was dizzy with pleasure, having found the sweetest flower of all to sup. She was in no hurry. She hung upside down, her proboscis thrust deep, opening and closing her wings in an ecstasy of partaking. I was also partaking in a state akin to ecstasy. How often do you get to photograph a fall butterfly on a spring flower? Bliss...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.