Day 15

Nothing could prepare us for our drive today.  We hadn't counted on the fact that we would drive through a virtual Botanical Garden of Wildflowers as we made our way toward Merredin, our last stopover before reaching my family and the Indian Ocean.

Virtually from the time we left Norseman we felt like we were driving through someone's flower garden of exotic natives.  The image I've posted as my blip is of two glorious little shrubs in mauve and a very deep purple.  The extraordinary thing is that they are just popping up out of the gravel.  This is just an astounding feature of many of the wildflowers along the way today.  I was pleased that CCN had chosen to wear the colour she did today as it goes well with the flowers I think.

I've also posted two extra images.  As we were driving along just outside of Southern Cross we nearly fell out of the car.  Just behind the tree line there was an enormous stretch of sand that was just covered in the most exquisite pink flowers.  I've posted a long shot of the paddock and also a close up taken with my normal lens.  You had better hold on to your hats everyone - just wait till I get that macro going :-))  I think we're in for the most incredible ride with the wildflowers if today is anything to go by. 

We only have 260km to go before we reach Perth.  It will be a much easier day tomorrow but it's been well worth the effort to tick off the extra kilometres today.  An early night tonight and then off home early tomorrow morning.  Yippee!!!!

PS - I just wanted to point out the white pipeline on the right hand side of the main image today.  It's part of the Goldfield Water Pipeline.  You might find the link very interesting reading.

Day15.....Norseman to Merredin.....462kms's
Total Travelled.....4020km 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.