Day 14

Well we're nearly home!!  Another 7 hours driving and we should reach the Indian Ocean and I just can't wait.

Today was a really long haul - we drove 708 kilometres from Eucla to Norseman and boy were we pleased to see these camels.  They're quite a feature in the town and are located on the roundabout as you drive into the town centre.  The  first Camel introduced to Australia in 1840 was brought here from the Canary Islands.  In 1860 another 24 Camels were brought into the country for the ill fated Burke and Wills expedition.  It's estimated that there are now 400,000 roaming the remote areas of Australia.  

I haven't been home to Perth since my wonderful Mum passed away just over two and a half years ago.  It will be just fantastic to see my family, but I know it will also be tough knowing that Mum won't be there to put the kettle on.  I've got a pretty good feeling that my big brother makes a good cup of tea!!

Day 14.....Eucla to Norseman.....708
Total Travelled.....3460

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.