Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Duke

I checked and double checked the day and time of my hospital appointment yesterday, and was there an hour early. (I'd rather be very early than late!) I read the Metro over a cuppa in the cafe.

Actually, I was there and hour and TWO MONTHS early!

Yes, I didn't check the MONTH!! Jings. The receptionist laughed and said I wasn't the only one to do that. But I DO have the correct appointment on my calendar, so I have no idea how this phantom appointment was on the calendar. Strange. And slightly worrying...

Missed the wee fella last night, but I got a lot done this morning without him - sanding the kitchen bench, where I'd accidentally put a hot pan lid down, and left a perfect circular scorchmark. A bit of  energetic sanding with soft sandpaper sorted the blemish, and I've oiled it.

Then off into town to post off my unwanted and practically useless 8MB iPhone. I've resisted an iPhone for years, but now realise I have to have one, so a better one (though not the brand new one!) will wing its way to me next week.

Wandered through town, ate my M&S sandwich in the Gardens - what a glorious day! I found myself in a shoe shop. My dogwalking/ gardening slip on shoes that stay by the door along with the wellies, don't really cut the mustard for dinner wear on, say, a luxury holiday... I chose a really nice, quite smart pair, which seemed to fit. I have them on now round the house. And they hurt like hell! Why? They may need to be returned. Those dog-walking shoes may just have to do another turn...

Archie is lying in my lap, his head up on my shoulder - his favourite position. He's glad to be home, but what a great time he had with Duke, the impeccably mannered and impossibly handsome Tibetan Terrier. AND he was allowed to sleep on the bed.

Guess who's coming tomorrow, Arch...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.