pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Finished my skirt!

I think it's the last skirt I will make from curtain material. It's fraying, and creasing, but I love the colours and it's been an interesting challenge. I think I should use a pattern next time....oh, but I'm too impatient for patterns. Anyway, the machine has gone away for a little while now, and I'll have to do something else with my evenings!

A regular day, filled with busy people. I took a walk to the station today at lunchtime and walking back up Prince of Wales Road I took a photo - in case I needed a blip! Some nice buildings, which is the nightclub centre of Norwich I'm told.

I left work at 4.45 and got home an hour later. Jon has been at home the last two days - these are the days each week that he hopes to fill with local work, once contacts have been made. Today was a good start. He spent several hours logging a wood pile for a family in the next village - a small job, but he chatted to the couple and already knows some names. He also has been given another name of someone to call, and was told where to go to get his chain saw serviced etc. It feels like things might be starting to come together.

I picked 3 large courgettes and had a few words with my tomatoes, as they are lovely and big, but very green. My sweet corn is still growing - mini corns they are supposed to be, & I'm hoping we'll get a whole meal out of them when they are ready! The French beans I must confess I forgot about. They have all gone bulbous and I think next year I'll grown onions there instead. My dahlias are amazing - a blip for the future, maybe? And the hibiscus I was so excited about earlier this year has flowered beautifully. I think the soil here is good for everything!

So I ended my day on my skirt, sorting out the hem and muddling through with the lining. I'm pleased with the result.....I just may need to carry an iron around with me :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.