Bushcraft Basics in the rain

Yes, rain. Lots of it. All day.

Jon and Henry were up early to finish setting up at Felbrigg. I heard them leave about 7.30. At that point it was still dry.

I got up just after 8. A large pile of washing up, followed by a bit of hoovering later, Mollie surfaced. It had started to rain quite heavily, and I then felt in no hurry to rush to the Greenbuild event. We got there in the end at just after 11. Jon had made a nice table display, but the board with photos kept getting blown over. He had rigged up a tarp over the top to shelter it all, and they were sitting under the tepee awning looking a bit fed up when we arrived. There was a steady trickle of passers by who had braved the weather, and politely commented on the set up. Some with children showed an interest in having a party. Jon had been fortunate in getting flyers printed by a good friend, so he had something to hand out. I sat by the fire, in the damp fresh air, and felt like I was on a camping holiday. It was a nice feeling, which I've missed. When I was cold, I even got my camp blanket out! We must do more of this. Next year will definitely be back to camping! Here is Henry just finishing off a paracord watch strap he made completely on his own, using one of Jon's books for guidance. Just one of the exciting activities he offers for a party. Age 8 to 80 anyone can be catered for!

I drove Mollie to work, then home by 4.30. J & H walked in just after. Then I spoke to dad who had only arrived last night, and had decided after all to go back home tonight. He had hoped to do more garden stuff but the weather had stopped him.

We decided it was too tiring to cook, and drove in to Cromer for fish and chips, which we managed to sit on the pier and eat, between showers. We delivered Mollie's to her as she doesn't finish until 11.30 tonight.

We have just watched The Lady in the Van on dvd. My mum recommended it, but I've been waiting for Christmas. In the end Jon bought it as a surprise and we have really enjoyed it. But it throws up so many questions, and a sadness at what she missed out on in her life, because of other people, and religion. I dont want to spend my whole life saying 'when this such and such happens, I'm going to do so and so' cos I don't think it will ever happen. So I need to rethink things, because life is a slog so much of the time, and part of me would like to be that lady in the van. Just, with a piano.

I have had no screen time, done very little on my phone today, and had no headaches. Tomorrow I plan much of the same. But with sun instead of rain. Hope to see you there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.