Food for free

And not just left over party food!

Daniel and Jon were up early, leaving mum and dad's in Hoddesdon at 7.30am. I said goodbye but everyone else was fast asleep. They got to Coventry where they did a food shop and Daniel settled into his shared house to start his final year at Coventry University. Where does the time go?

Eventually we surfaced and left Hoddesdon for home at 11. At Cambridge we collected Bracken from Win & John's, and after a quick catch up, and a cup of tea we got back on the road. A stop at 5 ways, at the new McDonalds broke up our journey, then a further brief stop at Morrisons in Fakenham for essential shopping (I haven't done shopping for the week yet).

We got home about 3.30. After emptying the car, I walked up to the allotment with some plastic tubs. The good news was I filled a pot with juicy blackberries, plus lots of runner beans and an egg from the hens. The bad news, something has completely demolished all my brassicas. I felt quite upset, then put it all into perspective. I have beans and blackberries. I think it was deer, based on the way they have been eaten. They are under net, so I'm not sure how they got in, but they did! Anyway, I am blipping these beautiful berries which are growing at the back of the allotment - much prettier than the skeletal remains of my Brussels, and will have a think about what I do next.

When I got home with my little hoard, Jon had arrived. He has done a lot of driving today. We hung out the washing, and it's going to be an evening of sorting and tidying. A weekend away is lovely, but the jobs don't get done, do they?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.