Stayed in view

This was to be more or less my last day at the office with ongoing patients. First, one of the two patients has had to be admitted, and that has resulted in an expedited transfer of care. The second called yesterday and asked to defer her appointment for a fortnight. 

Consequently we drove north to the beach house rather earlier than usual and avoided all the heavy traffic, until running into the post school traffic on our way through Warkworth.

Very pleased to see that the young man has put in the lowest set of steps down into the gully towards the cliff edge. The final stage will be a short path and a couple of platforms for sitting on. The whole will give access to the side of the gully for planting and the bottom for trees and shrubs. 

I took a run down the steps to the Southend of Snells Beach, and then around the edge of the water as it approached high tide. As I neared a pohutukawa bent over the water, a kotare (kingfisher) fled over my head to the safety of a perch high up the bank. I had chosen to take the Lumix superzoom (in case it rained as I didn't want my Pentax to get wet) and that was good enough to give me this photo from far away to not cause further flight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.