Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

E N G E R L A N D (It's coming home...)

Kudos to Callum. He's watched all 3 matches with me in the Ye Olde Kings Head in Santa Monica. This time, the TV crew were there so strangely that was our 3rd TV appearance this year - when Team USA Olympiads visited Reuben in hospital at UCLA on NBC Sports, on the Jubilee weekend on ITV and today. Slightly uncanny, hey!

This morning listening to Three Lions I had tears in my eyes. This is thrilling. It always is. I may not be able to watch every country's match in the Cup this year with the boys (I used to get a TV subscription just to watch the matches and record and re-watch), but at least I'll be in the pub at every opportunity. And yes, this'll go down as one of the worst pics in my journal. However, I'm thankful to the girl in the pub who took this with her phone.

Fantastic game but Sunday seems too far off and I don't know if I can bear the wait (nor weight for that matter as I recently wrote).

Callum knows all too well that after the matches we'll step into the sweet shop next door. I chose a Bounty and a Crunchie whilst he chose milk chocolate buttons. Well, I'm at least twice his size...

It's coming home...

Just heard:
"Kapow, kapow" points Callum.
"I don't like guns darling".
"It's not a gun. It's my finger".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.