The Queen's Visit - Starring Us!!!

Today we visited Harvard House in Stratford. It is not normally open to the public, but it is currently while one of the other Shakespeare properties has some work done to it.
When we had just got inside and were looking out of the window, I said “This is virtually the view that we had the year that the Queen came to Stratford. I can remember sitting on my Dad’s shoulders outside here”.  The girls at the desk said “We’ve got a picture somewhere of the Queen’s visit. While you look around we’ll see if we can find it.”  We’d only gone about 3 yards and they said “Oh here it is. Come and look.”
 And there WE are!!  Dad’s is standing by the wall to the right of the middle hanging basket. My brother is on the far right of the 4 or 5 boys standing opposite the car’s bonnet,  holding our Mother's hand and she is holding me (with dark curly hair).
It was 14th June 1957, and this is one of my oldest memories. I remember sitting on my Dad's shoulders whilst we were waiting - he was very tall so I was way above everyone in the crowd.
The girls very kindly emailed a copy of the photo to me.
I'll tell you the story of Harvard House another time. I was just so excited. When I zoomed in on the photo on my phone  on our way home in the car  I burst into tears when I saw my Mum and Dad. 
What a lovely surprise. 
My "extra" is Harvard House which I took today. It hasn't changed much.
C (Nikonabike) has blipped a photo of me standing outside Harvard House today, in roughly the same place that my Mum was standing. 
Sorry I didn't take the 1957 photo - but I did do the "extra". I couldn't not blip it could I?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.