Found on my morning walk

A reasonable early morning walk up the hill for me (after some text messaging to Ann).  I was hoping the sun would come out if I left it a little later, but as sods law would have it, it shone just as I was walking the last stretch up the road back to home.  At least it was a lovely day once it did come out.  I collected these two fungi on my route.  The front one, which I think might be a `milkcap' but I'm not too sure, was uprooted in Millmoor wood (I wonder if the birds do this when they are rooting around for insects).  I first spotted it last Sunday morning after it had rained quite hard - it was no more than a slimy button of a fungi.  The one behind is, I think, a `Russell' and possibly `Charcoal Burner'.  I photographed several of these in Ayton Wood (rather badly I have to say as the light was very poor) and I hadn't necessarily thought they were all the same as some were slug damaged and others in various states of decay.  Thanks to Pat O'Reilly's website for some really helpful photos and information ( far more useful than my guide books).
Well after hanging out washing and visits from Merv and J who is now cleaning for us I finally managed a shower and a visit to see Ann.  (I actually drove straight into the car-park and found a space without any problems.)  She was having a lie down - thinking of a sleep when I arrived but was still much more like her old self and fully engaged in the banter and goings on in their small room (they moved her into a four bed room the day before).  Unfortunately her temperature was up again before I left, and so later in the afternoon they put her on an antibiotic drip which meant when I spoke to her in the evening she was definitely feeling more like normal.
It's Penistone Agricultural Show time again and I managed a quick trip to the photography tent to collect my arm band that will let me into the show ground for free this morning. Fortunately the four men who were there had done all the work of setting the display boards out, so there was nothing else left to do (the rest happens this morning).  It will look good this year when the photos are on it - they've come up with a great arrangement.  Unfortunately its raining - so it's likely to get off to a slow and very wet start.  Sun is promised for this afternoon.  So fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.