Penny Bun?

I'm not sure, but I think this might be a Cep or Penny Bun.  I didn't think it was when I found it growing in a spot away from the path, but seeing it from the side has made me wonder.  I've put the stem in as an extra - taken from the other side.  I didn't find any others in the places where I know they grow (maybe someone is out picking already). There were more fungi around on my walk today mostly Boletes, but also a few more Brittle Gills (Russula) and one that looks more like a mushroom (though I don't think it is) growing in the middle of the path where they sometimes ride ponies.  I didn't think it would last very long.  A lovely walk on a very fine morning.

A quick trip to Wentworth Castle Gardens to say hello to people who were hosting the local history displays and then back home to relax.  I've felt really quite tired since we've been back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.