Arvin in Dave's Hat

I took this with my new camera. When I read about the new Sony RX100 Model 4 I decided I wanted to upgrade. I have the Model 1. I really love the camera but wanted some of the new features in the new model. It is much faster, has an electric viewfinder, can take high quality video, and does slow motion video. 

I ordered one from B&H and it came yesterday. Last night I had trouble sleeping, as I often do, when I purchase a new toy that is very expensive. This morning I was ready to send it back until I tried the slow motion video. 

I have lots to learn about how to improve what I get, but what fun to catch those jays in motion and then see every movement of their wings. The videos I got today were not good enough to share. In fact the videos looked much better on the camera screen than on my computer screen. And my focus was off. But what fun anyhow. I have some work to do to do a better job on them, and to learn all the things this new camera can do. It is overwhelming to read the specs. It will take some time for me to really get what it can do. I'll be selling my model 1 RX100 once I get used to the new one. 

One feature the new model lacks is the ability to use the watercolor and illustration filters on existing jpegs. Now you set the filter and take a picture afterwards. This mean you can use each one only once and separately. I've been combining them and creating some pretty wild photos. I'll miss that. But the other features will make it worth losing that I expect. I'm going to play awhile before I let the old camera go...

Thanks to all of you who keep following my journal and making comments. And especially to all of you who leave stars and hearts. I really appreciate them.

Forgot to mention that we spent much of the day with my brother Dave and our daughter Helena. It was a good relaxing day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.