Gangplank

To be honest, weekends are not my favorite thing. Once they were when I was a "worker bee." But not now. That is because my time is no longer my own. If it had been I'd have done a zillion things that need doing. That was the mood I was in. But Arvin is no longer content to be on his own. He can no longer entertain himself which is quite sad really as he used to love to be hanging out by himself. He never was bored or ran out of things to do. This is one of the areas where Alzheimer's is its most insidious. Slowly Arvin is losing all those things he loved to do: playing the piano and the guitar, reading, playing music on the hifi. So he needs company and help. As I type this I realize that his loss is far greater than mine and I feel such sadness for him. And he is fully aware of what is going on. So sad.

So today we picked up Helena and went to Fairhaven. We visited stores and stopped for coffee. It was pleasant. Then we dropped Helena home and went up to Costco to get a new battery cover for his hearing aid. We wandered all over the store and got a shirt and some new pants for him. And we bought gas. By the time we got home it was dinner time. After dinner we went down to the port to watch the sunset. It wasn't the best but the walk was very nice. Not such a bad day after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.