Trouble at t' mill

Today we had a drive out to Sleaford to have a look  at Cogglesford Water Mill.

The only thing I've been to Sleaford for previously is accompanying my folks around Tesco, and I didn't realise what a pretty little town it is. We walked along the river walkway and around the mazy streets. A return visit is definitely in order on a day when more of the place is open!

The mill itself was very interesting. A water mill has been there since Medieval times! At one time there were many along the river, and boats came down with the grain and moored up in the mill pond. It doesn't seem big enough for that now, but then those days are long gone!

As for the trouble I mentioned in the title? Well that came about when I, against my better judgement, went up a very steep (almost vertical!) narrow, open-tread staircase to the room where I took this shot of the mechanism where the grain falls through to the mill stones and main drive shaft. 

After taking the shots and having a good look around, I tried to go down - backwards as advised - and I just...couldn't! I was getting into a real stress over it until a very nice guy who worked as a rigger and knew about these things, advised me to try going down sideways so I could see where I was putting my feet. He went down in front of me to demonstrate, and I was able to follow. Phew!! Thank goodness I didn't go up to the very top floor or I'd have had two lots to go down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.