pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

St Peter Parmentergate, Norwich

I was so excited to do this blip today, so I'll need to fill you in on the background!

Saturday evening, when everyone else was watching a film, I decided to pick up a bit of my family history research. My paternal grandmother was born in Norwich, so I am already one quarter Norfolkian, but I wanted to go back along the line. I'll need to cut this story short, but guess what? My Great great great great grandparents were married on 4th July 1803 in this very church, right slap bang in the middle of Norwich!! At the point I discovered this I was determined that first chance Monday I would go and look for it.

So at lunch time I went out in the pouring rain. It was easy to find - churches are quite big, I guess - it is now a redundant church, on King Street, which in the 1800's would have been one of the main important streets in Norwich. Built in medieval times & then rebuilt in 1486 it has seen all the changes to Norwich. What stories it could tell! So John Hall & Jane Baker my 4 x great grandparents tied the knot here. I found it exciting - my family less so (but they were trying to watch a film)!!

The rest of my day was pretty tame. Jon took Mollie to Cambridge for her week at Karen's. Henry got his bus. Back home just me & H tonight. We did our dinners together. I then started on my snowmen earrings (I made a few pairs of Rudolphs yesterday) took the dogs out, hoovered upstairs, & now I'm going to watch Doc Martin.

Pictures of the earrings when they are done tomorrow hopefully - and anyone interested £4 a pair plus £1 postage for up to 3 pairs!

p.s. I edited the photo colour to give it a bit more umf!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.