Ice-Cream, Anyone?

Because I was consumed with my new kitchen being fitted this summer, Dolly and I haven't been able to get away since our short camping trip in early June.  Since the weather looked relatively good, I decided we would go on another camping trip, even if it was only a short visit.  Since I still feel very new to the camping life, I decided once again to not go very far from home.  So off to Hurley we went, just 7 miles from home.  Hurley is a pretty village on the Thames between Henley and Marlow.  I've visited the village and walked along the river several times, and knew that the campsite was popular.  

When I checked in and was asked my address, I said: "Don't laugh".  She replied that they get lots of regular guests who live a lot closer (Marlow, 3 miles away).  She said for a lot of people like to camp to just get away and one needn't go far.  I guess I'm not so weird after all!  

Although a bit of a challenge erecting the tent all by myself, I got it done.  Once we had settled in, we went on an early evening walk along the river.  There are lots of boats moored there.  I have to say, I've never seen one quite like this before - an ice-cream boat, instead of an ice-cream van?  Although I can't find any details on this one, I was interested to find a few examples of other ones in various places, notably this one from the River Ouse in York. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.