Lenore

By Lenore

Our first swimming lesson

Today we started swimming lessons - we (ok, I) have been looking forward to this since booking them a couple of months ago.   I thought today would be a cute picture of him in his swimming trunks, but whipping the camera out when carrying towels and baby whilst also negotiating starting a lesson wasn't exactly practical. 

So - we have a good swimmer - well floater. Proud Mummy moment when the teacher remarked just how good he is at floating on his back - I'm taking the compliments where I can get them. Plenty of nursery rhymes accompanied swimming and teaching our little babies how to grip the side of the pool and getting them used to the feel of water on and around them.  

As soon as we were done, the boy was fast asleep, we had a half hour wait for Gill to collect us and that was all spent asleep, then awake for a lunch time bottle before going back to sleep in the car-park whilst Gill did some shopping.   Suffice to say, 20 minutes in the water tired him out.  And yes, he's back asleep now. 

Back at the farm, Dirk has been up at the dip all day counting cattle.  We had a lovely afternoon run when I got back, 32 minutes to do 5km - once upon a time 5km would have taken about 22 minutes.  I'm claiming the  sand underfoot and fences as our excuse for what is not a great time.  Something to work on, let's say.  

It was also a big day as I drove into town for the first time - I think I'm slowly getting my bearings and before long freedom beckons with going in alone!  That will be a good day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.