atoll

By atoll

The Broken Arcs

A couple of meetings in Blackburn today had me taking quite a few shots in between them. Some of these I have dutifully added to Blipfolio like the cloud that looks like a flying Dumbo here; and a distant shot of the local folly called Darwen (Jubilee) Tower that looks like Thunderbird Three here (albeit, sideways). Both MrsB and J disagreed with my visual analogies (my sternest critics as ever) so these never made the cut.

I had hoped to park up at lunch time at Sunnyhurst Wood and walk up to Darwen Tower as it overlooks both Blackburn and Darwen. It was a lot further than I had anticipated so just couldn't quite make it up in time. I could only take a distant shot before heading back down for my 2pm appointment. I read afterwards that the tower celebrated Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee in 1897, and that on a clear day you can supposedly see the Isle of Man and the mountains of North Wales (Anyway, it wasn't a clear day so there is always next time).

So here instead is a detail of one of a series of six steel sculptures created by an artist friend and collaborator called Noah Rose. I found out that it is called The Broken Arcs and he created it around 1996 in collaboration with another sculptor called Adrian Moakes. I think the work referenced the fragmented windows of some derelict or demolished church - on this site or nearby.

Anyway, I really liked the look of it today because the council had not got around to cutting the grass and all the sculptures were peeking out of an almost wildflower meadow. I think they should save money, scatter more seeds and just leave it. I did wonder whether to remove the polystyrene chip tray at the base, but decided not as it might trample the grass down.

Postscript: I havn't had chance yet to speak to Noah about this work, but in trying to research it, found out that it's name is 'The Broken Arcs'. A Google search also reveals a 'Broken Arcs Foundation' charity in Blackburn so am imagining there must be a link here. I also found by accident a poem called 'Abt Vogler' by Robert Browning that has this verse in it:

Therefore to whom turn I but to thee, the ineffable Name?
Builder and maker, thou, of houses not made with hands!
What, have fear of change from thee who art ever the same?
Doubt that thy power can fill the heart that thy power expands?
There shall never be one lost good! What was, shall live as before;
The evil is null, is nought, is silence implying sound;
What was good shall be good, with, for evil, so much good more;
On the earth the broken arcs; in the heaven, a perfect round.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.