MEET JONATHAN

I realised I hadn’t done any street photography for a while, so when I went out this morning, I was determined to remedy that, so was looking around for a good blip.

I took a few shots of people without them knowing, but then wandered  into our shopping precinct a bit further and saw this man sitting on one of the plinths near the Brunel statue.  

This statue seems to be the gathering place for all sorts of people and rather than take a photograph without him knowing, I wanted to interact with this man, so when I saw someone else talking to him, I just walked up and began chatting too.  

I found out his name was Jonathan and told him I was out taking photographs in the street and also why I was doing it, before asking if he would be happy to pose for me.  He said he was and then struck different poses, but I liked this one the best.  On most of the others, there are lots of other people in the background, but I wanted a photograph of Jonathan on his own - as I felt his face was so expressive.  I’ve put one of his other poses in as an extra.

By this time several others had joined us, so after passing the time of day with them, I took my leave - mission accomplished.

“When you photograph people in color, 
     you photograph their clothes, 
but when you photograph people 
     in black and white, 
          you photograph their souls!”
Ted Grant


P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments yesterday - sadly I missed getting a photograph of the fly past, but watched an excellent programme on Channel 4 about Spitfires and Hurricanes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.