What the .......... !

To Birmingham to give a presentation at a conference. It went well, and the overall event was interesting.

I haven't been to the city centre for years. I walked from New St station through Victoria Square, Paradise Forum, Centenary Square, the ICC/Symphony Hall, Brindley Place and the canals to my destination at Austin Court.

I was interested to see the new library (see the extra) this was the third one which opened last year, with Manchester's and Liverpool's. Not as good inside as I hoped, I think the others are better. Opening hours are also having to be resticted because of the cuts. Which seems crazy.

Returning towards New St station you are faced with this totally disorienting view. Above the station (which remains dismal to my mind, despite the improvements) is a new shopping complex, Grand Central. Covered in reflective panels it opens next week, and will include the largest John Lewis outside London. I prefer some coherence in a building - even anarchic coherence. Not sure about this at all, although the reflective opportunities mean it is going to be blipped forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.