Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Broad-billed Hummingbird

I just had to use this profile shot today because I may not get another opportunity to get a Broad-billed again until this time next year.  They are passing through on their migration southwards from the high country around Madera Canyon.  They are really beautiful birds featuring the orange on their bill which makes them unique.

The nectar bats have been around for a couple of weeks now and will likely be here through the end of the month.  That means I have to take the feeders down every evening just as it is getting dark and put them on a low spot where the bats won't fly.  Otherwise, they will suck the things completely dry by morning.  That often means taking them down early (sorry little guys) when I'm going out if I know I'll be coming home in the dark.

Check out the face off between two hummers in the extra photo.  Cool!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.