Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Last Rufous Hummingbird

Just as yesterday's Broad-billed hummer has been passing through on migration, so has the Rufous hummingbird.  This day may have been the last day they have been around.  Since this is a catch up blip, I can report that I have not seen them since. 

My first clue that they were gone was the reemergence of Zippy from hiding.  I think Zippy, who bullies all others for the of the eleven months of the year, had to go to Disneyland for a vacation while Rufous  ruled the roost! Rufous were the backyard bullies.  When they arrived, they claimed the territory for them selves.  The only partial solution was to hang three feeders and hope there would be enough space for all.  But I erred when installing my poles and put them too close together, so it didn't work as well as I had hoped.

Check out pretty boy's profile in the extra photo.  He's so gorgeous.  I'm going to miss all of these migrants beautiful colors when they are gone.



The sky is brightening for me. 
As I have more mobility.



 Posted on 17 Sept

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.