Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Colors In The Storm

I panicked.  Usually rainbows are in the east, when the rains stop, at least temporarily, and the sun is at the perfect angle as it is setting in the west.  But as I was driving home, I saw it in the northern sky. 

I was at a stoplight waiting to make a U-turn to head home and was without my camera.  I still don't understand the limits of my iPhone, but since I was afraid I was going to miss it completely, did another U-turn after the light turned green so I could try to get a picture of it.  Ugh.  Lousy.

I raced home.  The colors were actually getting better.  But my camera was on the tripod with the big 100mm-400mm lens attached. It would be too close.  My first thought was to take it off of the tripod and change the lens.  But I wasn't thinking clearly and it occurred to me that I would have to take of the boot in order to do that and it would take too much time.  (I wouldn't need to do that.)

So...I did what you're NEVER supposed to do, especially with a huge lens attached to the camera.  I locked the lens then picked up the entire kit-and-kibboodle and took it outside.  My window faces east, and as I said, the dang thing was in the north.  I got as far back in my yard as I could with the lens at 100mm and I was too close to get any of the rainbow in focus.  So I unlocked my backyard gate and unlocked my neighbor's gate and went into their yard and set up.

I know...a long story to tell you that I got this shot, finally, of the brightest section of the rainbow.  The rest of the rainbow, to be honest, was mediocre, at best, and faded quickly. But these brilliant colors cooperated with me and were most beautiful in the storm just when I was ready to shoot them.

I had to scamper into the house after three shots because the rains began once more, but all of my angst about missing it, driving in circles then fumbling with the camera inside and out (without breaking it!) was worth seeing glory in the darkness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.