The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Hủ Tiếu Nam Vang

I went to the park yet again. This time the sun was shining, so the light was perfect! I tried to stand back and take photos but I was quickly surrounded by some students. They were all so nice and helpful. We talked about food quite a lot and after suggesting lots of dishes I've already had, one of them mentioned "hủ tiếu nam vang", a Cambodian noodle soup that I'd only recently been reading about. The girl went to ask a few people if they knew somewhere good for it nearby and then they suggested I order "hủ tiếu khô" which is where they serve the broth in a separate bowl, leaving the noodles, prawns, beef and everything else without liquid ("khô" means dry).

I really enjoyed it. I've added an extra photo to show how beautiful it looked! For the last third of the meal, I mixed in the broth so I could try it the other way. Both were delicious and I'm not sure which I preferred.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.