An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Autumn Scents...

You can tell autumn is pushing summer out the way by the subtle changes in the scents both indoors and out.

I've become aware that the smell of freshly mown grass and BBQs has been replaced by cooler fresh air, a kind of toffee apple scent outside at night (no idea what it is but I only smell it during autumn) and indoors summer scented candles are replaced by more intense berry and cardamom candles and the biggest smelling clue of all.....homemade soup made with yellow split peas and ham hough (hock to non-Scots:-)

Made a massive pot this afternoon and as the aroma filled the house I took that giant psychological step from summer in to autumn and I'm now ready to embrace all the joys that season brings:-

Cosy nights in, curtains closed, good telly and feet up.
No pressure to get things done outside or in the garden.
Guilt free book reading.
Changing colours of the season and all the blip opportunities.
Time to slow down and catch up with friends I have't seen for a while.
Halloween.

And lots more homemade soup!

I may moan about the weather but I love living in a country with seasons and each one of them is my favourite when it arrives.  :-))

Apologies for my lack of commenting.  Just not enough hours.  Hope to get some blip time this evening :D  


Sweep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.