Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The remains of the day...

Wonderful evening and morning spent with my two besties, Kura and Peg.  Wine flowing copiously last night, belly-laughs of the best sort, memories that only old friends can share.  Capped of this morning by them being able to watch my last caterpillar transform to a chrysalis AND the release of the Caterpillar Formerly Known as #2 who eclosed early this morning!  I am posting a photo in Extra of Kura holding the little monarch boy just before he lifted off to explore the yard.  Such fun being able to share this with my two dear friends.  We dedicated # 2 to our beloved friend, Lynn, who lost her fight with cancer on 18 March 2010.  Not a day goes by that I don't think of her.  We agreed that she would approve of the dedication, being that she always appreciated a handsome, well dressed male.

I am off to dinner with another friend tonight, one whom I haven't seen in at least 8 years!  We recently re-connected (thanks to Facebook) and looking forward to seeing her this evening and catching up on the years.

Hubs' trip to AL is going well although I think he'll be glad to start the long drive home tomorrow morning.  He will arrive here sometime on Saturday - very much looking forward to having him home again.  He's spent some good time with his mom, brother and sister.  Time marches on and none of us is getting any younger...  This Sunday we'll see our nephew and his wife at the christening of their baby - can't wait!  

Today's blip isn't all that inspired but I am aware that soon the hummers will be gone.  There are still at least 2 buzzing around today and I thought it was nice to catch one momentarily at rest - although you can see that he is keeping an eye out for any threats to his nectar!  For those of you who've never seen a hummingbird in person, the tip of the shepard's crook may give you a good idea of this bird's diminutive size.

My second choice for a blip today was this shot of the Monarch called #2 resting on a zinnia late this afternoon.

Cheers, people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.