Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fly fast, Horatio...

Probably won't surprise most of you that today's blip is Horatio (formerly the Caterpillar Known as # 1).  He was hanging on the top of the enclosure when I got up this morning, so after waiting until it had warmed up, I took his enclosure outside.  When I reached my hand in, he flew right onto it, and perched there for several minutes, to my utter delight.  I finally nudged him onto a buddleia where he sat for a good half hour, occasionally stretching his wings as seen here (photo is SOOC with about a 10% crop).  I sat outside with him, sipping my tea and taking some shots and just enjoying the moment.

He finally took his first flight, soaring high above the roof of our house before landing back in the buddelia and eating.  Shortly after, he once again took to the sky, off for Mexico.  What an experience!

Some people like to dedicate their released butterflies to people who have passed on and I decided that I liked that idea very much.  So Horatio's release is dedicated to my father-in-law who passed away on March 9 2014.  He was a gruff man,  not given to displays of sentiment ... but he had a well-hidden appreciation for things of beauty.  In his younger days, he grew roses and he always fussed over his peonies and other flowering plants in the yard.  He and I never talked about butterflies, but I have a hunch he would have been completely fascinated with the whole metamorphosis from caterpillar to chrysalis to butterfly.  

One additional shot of Horatio on my hand in Extra and three more on Flickr, starting HERE

My besties, Kura and Peg are stopping by tonight, on their way from NYC to Corning.  I've got Prosecco chilling and we'll be grilling veggies and planking some salmon.  We will, no doubt, consume too much wine and laugh until we can't breath - can't think of a better way to spend a Wednesday night!

Still have at least 3 hummers in the garden, busy fighting and eating.  The first of the winter sparrows should start to arrive in a few weeks.  Leaves are starting to fall from the trees, although there are no signs yet of changing colors...but, soon....

Thanks for stopping by, and thanks to everyone who's joined me on this amazing Monarch journey...

TTFN
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.