Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Most Important Meal of the Day...

I had my breakfast on the deck this morning...and so did the chipmunks. Today Speed Racer was "joined" by Lefty (so named because his tail was apparently broken at some point and cants sharply to the left). This is Lefty rewarding himself with ALL the peanuts after he successfully chased all over the deck and into the woods. Have I mentioned that chippies, like hummers, aren't social creatures? In fact, they have some epic battles, especially at this time of year when they are all trying to fill up their pantries for winter.

As usual, when I saw the photos on my computer screen, some of them made me laugh - which was my criteria in picking this one. As a footnote, Lefty managed to pouch two peanuts (one on each side) AND get one clenched between his teeth before scampering off the deck. And I am not entirely sure, but I think I heard a squeeky little "Eureka!" as he left.

I posted five other photos on Flickr, starting Here with a male house finch and following up with two more chippies, a dancing blue jay and a busy little nuthatch.

More things ticked off my list today. In fact, I am so well along on this week's "to do" list that I may just take tomorrow morning off and head out for a hike. Depends on how much packing I get done tonight.

Thanks for the lovely comments on my spider yesterday. I would never have known that flower crab spiders existed had it not been for Blip. Pretty cool.

Salute,

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.