Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Itsy Bitsy...

That describes the flower crab spider pretty perfectly. They are so tiny that I am sure most folks miss them entirely. I believe that this one is a White-banded crab spider (Misumenoides formosipes) - but please feel free to correct me if you know differently. Crab spiders are tricky to identify since most of them have some ability to change colors. Based on the size of this one, I'd speculate that it is a female. Even so, it would fit several times on a US Dime. Anyway, they are pretty cool little things and tricky to photograph since they like to dash around the flower to the part farthest from the camera lens.

Today was a VERY productive day! The fun part of my day was a chat with my parents in the morning ... which was followed by chores...
- Got car serviced
- Made an appointment to get windshield replaced tomorrow (giant crack caused by a truck throwing gravel)
- Confirmed the Vacant Home Insurance policy on the NJ home
- Confirmed renters insurance on the FL home
- Dropped knives off to get them sharpened (handy if I feel the need to slit my wrists at some point during this move!)
- Made appt to get Grandfather Clock readied for the movers

And I was able to spend about 45 minutes outside enjoying the amazing weather. I caught some glimpses of catbirds and at least one rose-breasted grosbeak in the pokeweed, but the light was all wrong for photographns so I just enjoyed them instead. And when I went out this afternoon, there were hundreds of grackles up high in the trees - couldn't see them but could sure hear them. This time of year, they start forming large flocks (like starlings, in that respect).

Thanks for sending Speed to the Spotlight yesterday! The cheeky little scamp was back today, loading up on dried corn, sunflower seeds and whatever else he could pack into his cheek pouches. Sure going to miss them when I move. And speaking of missing things ... I am only seeing a couple of hummers now and only for brief visits to the feeders. My guess is that they are migrants who've stopped for a few days on their way south.

Happy Monday, people...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.