Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

What a difference a day makes...

This morning the cats (four legged, furry ones) woke me up at the unspeakable hour of 5:30 which didn't seem like an auspicious beginning to the day.  However, when I made my way downstairs to get my tea, I peaked in the Nursery and saw this!  A monarch chrysalid that looked like it was ready to spit out a butterfly at any moment!  Notice that you can actually see the color of the wings through the clear chrysalis (which was green yesterday).

Not wanting to miss the big event, I quickly decided not to go for a hike.  Instead, I went to my desk, Monarch Nursery in hand, and set about paying some bills and doing some other office chores.  Before you know it, noon had arrived... but no butterfly.  After yesterday's Epic Failure, I was now convinced that any manner of dire things was going on inside that chrysalis.  The afternoon rolled along and just as I was getting ready to dash out the door for an appointment...I saw motion in the Nursery!  Yep, Horatio Monarch was arriving.  I quickly grabbed a camera and stuffed it in the enclosure, madly firing away shots.  Had to do massive lightening on them all but if you'd like to see four photos showing the emergence of the butterfly, click HERE - it's worth seeing.

Incidentally, Horatio is the caterpillar previously known as # 1. I posted a video of him changing from caterpillar to chrysalis on 4 September - if you missed it, you can see it HERE.  I find a certain amount of symmetry in knowing that he is my first successful butterfly "baby."  Because of the late hour of his arrival and since he needs 3-4 hours for his wings to "set", he'll be staying in the enclosure in the kitchen tonight.  Once the temps warm up tomorrow, I'll release him into the garden where he can eat before heading south to Mexico.  

My initial plan today was to blip a hummingbird...but how could I not post this?  When I look back on my journal months/years from now, this is exactly what I want to remember.  But, if you need a hummie-fix, check Extras...

And now, I am going to pour a celebratory glass of savignon blanc and make myself some gnocchi with maitake mushrooms...

Be well...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.