Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

What happened here???

After a long day of travel, we arrived home around 4:30 this afternoon. Took a walk around the property and were a bit stunned at all the damage that occurred during last weeks storm. In addition to the huge tree that fell in our neighbors yard, we've lost a big hunk out of the two enormous trees next to our deck and a few other trees along the edge of the woods. It is a bit daunting.

Today's blip is definitely a grab-n-go shot. I was out cleaning some debris from the deck when I saw this juvenile red-bellied woodpecker on what used to be the tall tree next to the deck. Now it is sideways, which the 'pecker seemed to like. Sheesh.

We will call our insurance company tomorrow as we will need to have a lot of work done removing the fallen trees. I am kind of glad that we weren't home when it happened - the noise from these monster trees snapping in half must have been horrific. And we are SO lucky that our house wasn't damaged!!!

More tomorrow - I'm a tired Blipper. And I miss my
Mom and dad (and I don't care if that sounds silly coming from a 57 year old "kid!")

Ciao
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.