CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A heron prowling the River Severn's shoreline

I suggested to Helena that we go on a jaunt to sit on the bank of the River Severn as a way to recuperate from last night.  We eventually set off after 1pm with a flask of hot water for tea, some nibbles, cameras and a blanket.

The sun was very warm with some distant large clouds, but autumn was still a distance away.  The tide was running out to sea which meant the river was revealing its sandbars and mud flats as it meandered slowly southwards.  Surprisingly there was a lot of driftwood with some large branches of trees all flowing down stream, which indicates the level of rainfall recently further up the river towards its source in the mountains of Wales.

Helena quickly took to a horizontal position on the balnket and even snoozed for some of the afternoon.  I was rather intrigued by using my newish long zoom on my older camera, a 50D, which has a smaller sensor, and so the reach of lens is increased compared to the 5D.  I set up a monopod to take the weight of the lens, and moved down to the edge of the river bank, some ten yards below the top of the artificially raised flood prevention embankment. which is so vital hereabouts.

I quickly spotted a long-legged bird on the far bank ambling along the edge of the receding river as it uncovered various layers of mud and sand.  There were also three large groups of birds resting on the higher mudbanks two of which were gulls of various types, whilst a third was a
mass of geese which occasionally honked at each other.

I followed the heron, which at first I had hoped might be a crane, as I'd filmed four of them flying over me at this spot last spring.  But I now realise that it was just a heron.  I was intrigued by its constant activity even when standing still, always on the lookout for little fish in the shallows.  Sometimes it would run a few yards and then peck into the water, whilst at others it would stand in classic still mode before darting its neck down into the water.  When running it was very comical and I nearly blipped one of these excursions.  But in the end I have chosen one of many shots I took of it having just pulled its head out of the water with a fish in its beak.

Several people walked past us along the Severn Way and I had chats and showed them the view through the lens of the heron, which they could hardly see at all with their naked eye.  Then a van drew up nearby and a large gentleman with two active dogs opened up the rear of his van and took some apparatus down to the water's edge.  

Eventually he carried on past us and stopped to say hello. We had a long chat about his life here as an eel catcher, the last on the river Severn.  He showed me one of the traps which was in the back of the van, with two huge salmon heads in it as bait. Being inquisitive I asked him lots of questions about the technical aspects of catching the fish ,as well as salmon fishing which he also does with hand held nets from his rowing boat, moored a few yards away. When there is no fish, or it is the wrong season, he collects driftwood which he cuts up for sale.  He lives at Framilode, the mouth of the River Frome where it joins the Severn, which we also often visit, and I mentioned meeting someone from there, who he said was his relation.  It is a very tight community around here and very friendly, I'm pleased to say. I do love these occasions and the chance to learn so much from local people who know so much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.